Puerto Vallarta Weather Report
Welcome to Puerto Vallarta's liveliest website!
Contact UsSearch
Why Vallarta?Vallarta WeddingsRestaurantsWeatherPhoto GalleriesToday's EventsMaps
Sign up NOW!

Free Newsletter!

Puerto Vallarta News NetworkNews Around the Republic of Mexico 

Daylight Saving Time Begins in Mexico on April 7, 2019

April 4, 2019

Daylight Savings Time begins at 2:00 am on Sunday so, if you are lucky enough to be celebrating Spring in Puerto Vallarta or Riviera Nayarit, be sure to set your clocks ahead an hour before going to bed this Saturday night.

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico - Daylight saving time, usually referred to as the Horario de Verano in Mexico, begins at 2:00 am local time on Sunday, April 7, 2019. So if you are lucky enough to be celebrating Spring here in Puerto Vallarta, don't forget to set your clocks ahead one hour before going to bed this Saturday night!

Daylight Saving Time in Mexico

In most all of Mexico, daylight saving time begins at 2:00 am local time on Sunday, April 7, which means most everyone will be turning their clocks ahead one hour. Some Mexico border communities changed their clocks on March 10th in accordance to the U.S. time change. (For more information, click HERE.)

Mexico adopted DST nationwide in 1996, even in its tropical regions, because of its increasing economic ties to the United States. Although the U.S. changed the schedule for DST beginning in 2007, most of Mexico did not go along with it. Daylight saving time for Mexico begins on the first Sunday of April, and ends on the last Sunday of October.

In 2010, the ten Mexican municipalities that share a border with the United States started to observe daylight saving time three weeks earlier, on the second Sunday in March and ending on the first Sunday in November. This change in daylight saving time observance was requested by local governments and political leaders to help facilitate commerce with the United States.

Until April of 2010, the state of Nayarit was one hour earlier than Puerto Vallarta and the state of Jalisco. Before that, many tourist related businesses in Nayarit around Banderas Bay would set their clocks to Puerto Vallarta time to prevent confusion. On April 4, 2010, Nayarit initiated a 2 hour time change to coincide with Jalisco.

Therefore, in both states clocks will be turned forward 1 hour from 2:00 am to 3:00 am on April 7, 2019. Daylight Saving Time will end in Mexico on Sunday, October 27, 2019.