Puerto Vallarta Weather Report
Welcome to Puerto Vallarta's liveliest website!
Contact UsSearch
Why Vallarta?Vallarta WeddingsRestaurantsWeatherPhoto GalleriesToday's EventsMaps
Sign up NOW!

Free Newsletter!
Puerto Vallarta News NetworkSports 

USA, Mexico and Canada to Host 2026 FIFA World Cup

go to original
June 14, 2018

Decio de Maria, President of the Football Association of Mexico, presents a joint United bid by Canada, Mexico & the US to host the 2026 World Cup at the FIFA congress in Moscow, Russia, June 13, 2018. (AP)

New York City - The biggest World Cup tournament the earth has ever seen will be held in 2026 - right here in North America.

On the eve of the men's 2018 FIFA World Cup opening match in Russia, soccer's world governing body FIFA awarded the right to host the men's 2026 World Cup to the United Bid featuring Canada, Mexico and the United States.

It will be the first World Cup tournament held across three nations, featuring an expanded field of 48 teams and a record 80 matches.

The North American unified bid defeated the lone competing bid from Morocco, winning the first-ever public vote involving all 203 eligible FIFA member nations by a 134-65 tally, claiming 67 percent of the vote.

The four bidding nations (Canada, Mexico, Morocco & the US) were not permitted to vote, while the federations of Guam, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands recused themselves.

The United bid scored higher than Morocco's bid according to the FIFA technical report released earlier in June - North America earned an evaluation of 4 out of 5 compared to Morocco's 2.7 out of 5. Both bids made one final presentation to the FIFA Congress in Moscow just before the vote.

The 2026 edition will be the second World Cup hosted on US soil, and the first one in 1994 still holds the record for the most tickets sold and the most revenue ever generated in addition to leading to the launch of Major League Soccer just two years later. Mexico has served as host on two occasions - in 1970 and 1986 - while Canada has never hosted the men's World Cup.

Read the full article and see the voting results at